Book Review – The Chronicles of Prydain

The Chronicles of Prydain  by Lloyd Alexander are five different books that follow the life of Taran, a young Assistant Pig-Keeper. In the first book, The Book of Three, Taran is just a small boy who helps keep watch over a magician’s magical pig. But when the magical pig runs away to avoid the evil Queen Achren, Taran finds himself in an adventure. From the dungeons of Spiral Castle to the underground land of the Fair Folk (enchanted beings like elves and fairies), Taran must use his wits and be brave to survive. Along the way, Taran makes new friends like the young and fearless, Princess Eilonwy; the heroic knight, Gwydion; and the strange but adorable creature, Gurgi.   

Each book thereafter has Taran involved in yet another adventure of good versus evil. Over the course of the five books we see Taran and his friends grow into stronger and wiser young adults.  The land of Prydain is a magical realm where dwarves and men live side by side and evil queens and sorcerers constantly try to rule the land. Each book draws the reader deeper and deeper into this wonderful land and makes the reader want to know more and more of what will become of Taran and all his wonderful friends!

The five books are considered classics and can be found at nearly any bookstore or at most libraries. So if you like adventure stories, fantasy stories, stories about friends; these books should be a good fit.  I have listed the five books in order below:

  1. The Book of Three
  2. The Black Cauldron
  3. The Castle of Llyr
  4. Taran Wanderer
  5. The High King

I hope you enjoy reading these adventures as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: